APPENDIX C

POLITICAL UPDATE

To supplement the information in Chapter 19, Government, the following lists give the names of the Cabinet Ministers of Canada in April 1989, December 1988, September 1988 and February 1988, the Senate, members of the Privy Council and the executive councils of the provinces and territories. Data on members of the House of Commons voted into office in federal general elections are given in Chapter 19, Table 19.4.

Cabinet ministers

Members of the 25th ministry. In April 1989 the following were Ministers of the federal Cabinet, according to precedence:

The Rt. Hon. Martin Brian Mulroney Prime Minister

The Rt. Hon. Charles Joseph Clark Secretary of State for External Affairs

The Hon. John Carnell Crosbie Minister for International Trade

The Hon. Donald Frank Mazankowski
Deputy Prime Minister, President of the
Queen's Privy Council for Canada and Minister of Agriculture

The Hon. Elmer MacIntosh MacKay Minister of Public Works and Minister for the purposes of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency Act

The Hon. Arthur Jacob Epp Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources

The Hon. Robert R. de Cotret President of the Treasury Board

The Hon. Henry Perrin Beatty
Minister of National Health and Welfare

The Hon. Michael Holcombe Wilson Minister of Finance

The Hon. Harvie Andre Minister of Regional Industrial Expansion, and Minister of State for Science and Technology

The Hon. Otto John Jelinek Minister of National Revenue The Hon. Thomas Edward Siddon Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

The Hon. Charles James Mayer Minister of Western Economic Diversification, and Minister of State for Grains and Oilseeds

The Hon. William Hunter McKnight Minister of National Defence

The Hon. Benoît Bouchard Minister of Transport

The Hon. Marcel Masse Minister of Communications

The Hon. Barbara Jean McDougall
Minister of Employment and Immigration

The Hon. Gerald Stairs Merrithew Minister of Veterans Affairs

The Hon. Monique Vézina Minister of State for Employment and Immigration, and Minister of State for Seniors

The Hon. Frank Oberle Minister of State for Forestry

The Hon. Lowell Murray Leader of the Government in the Senate and Minister of State for Federal-Provincial Relations

The Hon. Paul Wyatt Dick Minister of Supply and Services

The Hon. Pierre H. Cadieux
Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern
Development

The Hon. Jean J. Charest
Minister of State for Youth, Minister of State for
Fitness and Amateur Sport, and Deputy Leader
of the Government in the House of Commons

The Hon. Thomas Hockin
Minister of State for Small Businesses and
Tourism

The Hon. Monique Landry Minister for External Relations

The Hon. Bernard Valcourt
Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs.

The Hon. Gerry Weiner Secretary of State of Canada, and Minister of State for Multiculturalism and Citizenship